Farm Bureau Celebrates 100 Years


Pictured is the centennial celebration. Photo courtesy Nancy Weis

Information courtesy
Nancy Weis

The Winneshiek County Farm Bureau hosted its Centennial celebration Friday, Aug. 3, at the historic Innwood Ballroom in Spillville. Over 300 members enjoyed prime rib catered by U2 BBQ & Catering.

The program started off with county president John Hegg welcoming members. Board member Ron Ludeking led the Pledge of Allegiance. The work of an organization such as Farm Bureau takes more than one person, and president Hegg acknowledged the hard work and dedication of the 21 Winneshiek County Farm Bureau board members. The election of the 2018-2019 officers and directors was also held.

President Hegg also introduced Jessica Schmitt, one of the 2018 scholarship recipients. Scholarships are available to graduating seniors going into an agriculture or nursing field. This year’s recipients also included Anna Hanson, Hanna Schmitt, Nick Kuehner, Hailey Nierling, Ayden Gossman and Austin Tieskoetter.

Read more in the August 14 edition of the Calmar Courier.